Leave a comment

What is Warnell all About? – Alex Butler

When I sat down to write this blog post I was looking for a few words to be able to describe Warnell to prospective students, alumni, and other interested parties. The truth though is that Warnell is something that has to be experienced to fully understand it. Most college students can’t relate to this because their school is just a building, some classrooms, some professors, and a few of their friends. Warnell is so much more.

Warnell is a not just a school in the basic sense, it is a place where you will be challenged and strengthened as you prepare for a career in the natural resource conservation field. From the seemingly “never ending” measurements labs in first semester, to the long hours in the computer lab typing your senior project report, there are times where you absolutely hate school. But on the other hand, when you put some of the skills that you have learned in class to use at wildlife or forestry conclave, you definitely feel a strong sense of accomplishment. Also when you are sitting in a job interview after graduation you will truly appreciate the hard times.

Warnell is a relatively small school compared to some of the other colleges at UGA. This is definitely a positive as it allows you to really get to know your professors and your classmates. I have met some of my best friends at Warnell and have developed connections that will help me in my professional career as well. From Wildlife Supper, smoking pigs at 6:00 am, to the endless driving around the Southeast during Forestry Field Camp, I have made lasting memories with my fellow classmates.

I graduated with a dual major in forestry and wildlife in May of 2012. As I prepared to apply to graduate schools I thought about what would be best for my career and my education. No matter what positives I could think of from other schools, UGA and Warnell always had another factor that would trump them. Warnell faculty and staff provide the best student support that I’ve ever seen, hands down. If you are truly passionate about natural resources and are looking for an awesome family atmosphere, then Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources is the perfect place for you.Image

Leave a Reply

