Leave a comment

Hog Heaven – Alex Butler

How many college students are awake at 5:00 in the morning on a Spring Saturday morning? Further than that, how many of those students choose to be awake that early? I was one of the few who were up preparing for the Wildlife Supper in 2012.

Image

Flichum’s Phoenix at Whitehall Forest, Athens, GA

I got to Whitehall (Warnell’s 740 acre teaching forest) early that morning and headed to Flinchum’s Phoenix to start cooking food for that night’s event. Swanny Evans, Skilor Gay, and I, as members of the meat committee, were in charge of smoking the wild hogs for the supper. We got a good fire going and cooked the hogs for about 10 hours through the morning and afternoon. We also helped set up the room and prepared other dishes for that evening festivities. This was my third Wildlife Supper and the second one that I had helped cook at. After a trip home, a shower, and a nap, I made my way back to Whitehall. I then helped with the final preparations and warmed up many of the dishes that people had brought by. It was a great event with about 300 people who came out that night. To top it off I won 3 or 4 items in the raffle that night.

 The Wildlife Supper is just one of the many events that we have in Warnell that really sets us apart from the other schools at UGA. Others include the Chili Cook Off, Fish Fry, Low Country Boil (as you can tell we like to eat at Warnell), the Lumberjack Ball, and Conclave just to name a few. Going to these events is an awesome way to get to know fellow students, professors, and alumni. Not only that but helping with these events gives you a sense of pride and is a great way to give back to the school.

 To the current and future Warnell students, getting involved in these extracurricular activities is one of the best things I ever did in college. As I look back on my undergraduate and graduate years I am very thankful for the opportunities that I have been afforded. I hope to always be able to give back to the school that has done so much for me.

Leave a Reply

