Leave a comment

Making Lifelong Memories – Tyler Lock

So there’s this place called Whitehall where Warnellians make memories. Some of my fondest memories there are labs with classmates, conclave practices with the forestry club, and all the club cookouts at Flinchums Phoenix. But the one that will last a life time is the time I proposed to my girlfriend by the Oconee River.

I knew I had to make the proposal special and memorable, so I thought for weeks about the best way to do it. After some deep brain storming, I decided to carve those special words into a tree by the river behind Flinchums Phoenix. I choose a river birch set in a perfect location overhanging a sand bar next to the old mill where the North Oconee and the Middle Oconee rivers converge.

I decided before we went out for a casual dinner date that night, I would lure her down to the river by telling her we would start the evening off by watching the sunset by the river. She had never been down to the river, and she knew that I had always wanted to show her my favorite spot on the river behind Flinchums. When we arrived at Flinchums I took her by the hand and led her down the hill toward the sand bar. The whole way down the hill I was so anxious my heart was beating rapidly because I knew that this was going to be the biggest moment of our lives. I led her to the tree where I had carved “MARRY ME?” just days before, and got down on one knee and told her I wanted to spend the rest of my life with her and asked “Will you marry me?” She paused for a moment and my heart stopped, but then she finally said the answer I was looking for, “Yes!”

I got to ask the girl of my dreams to marry me at the place that has helped make my dreams of being a natural resources manager become a reality. This is just my favorite story of all the favorite Warnell family’s stories that have been created at Whitehall.

Lock Blog 2 Lock Blog

Leave a Reply

