Leave a comment

Choose Wisely – Morgan Strickland

I’m sure you have all heard it a million times but let me tell you just once more. Each choice you make matters. With everything you do, you change your path ever so slightly until sometimes you’re facing the opposite direction. Speaking from experience, I can tell you my path has taken a few turns and is now a winding trail down life’s long road.

Hi! My name is Morgan Strickland. I’m a graduate student working on my Masters in Forest Resources majoring in Forest Business. I can honestly tell you I never thought I would become a forestry major. I grew up with family in the forest industry and have always known about it but didn’t really think it was something I wanted to do. I got a BSA in Agribusiness from the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences here at UGA. While in undergrad I was offered two very different summer internships. I accepted a job with a Farm Credit to find out if that was what I wanted to do with my life. Well, it was! I loved the job and learned so much but quickly found out just how much farm credit works with the private timberland owners in Georgia. I spent a lot of time working in the timber sector of the farm credit business and decided I wanted to learn more. When fall semester started I signed up to take a few classes offered in Warnell. I really enjoyed what I was learning and met some really cool people that I liked being around. So, I decided to apply for the forest business master’s program. As you can tell, I was accepted into the program and started to get involved in all the school had to offer. Being at most of the school functions, I have met some new people and stayed in contact with many I met while working with farm credit. By building my network I landed another summer internship with a different division of farm credit that led to a full time job after I graduate.

As you can see, every decision I made led me on a new path and the road just kept getting better. Because I chose the internship I did; I fell in love with forestry, met a cute guy I will call my husband in just one month, landed my dream job, and got to meet so many people who I will continue to work with throughout my career. Warnell has played a huge part in my life and I’m so happy I made the choice to join the Warnell family. So, my path has some hills, twist and turns but it has all helped me achieve my goals and gotten me to exactly where I want to be. I am sure your story is similar….it’s just waiting on you to choose your path!

Leave a Reply

