Leave a comment

A few of my favorite Forestry things! – Annabeth Spence

There are so many sides to describe Warnell and why I love it. As a forestry student I’d like to share with you some of my favorite memories. While I have countless memories of classes and events there are four that really stand out in my mind. So, here are a few of my favorite things.AB2

1. Forest Measurements with Dr. Bettinger:

I loved this class from the very start. Not only because we got to be outside for almost every lab but also because of my classmates. This is one of the larger sized classes so I didn’t get to know everyone in the room but the people I did get to know helped make this experience even more fun and exciting. Not to mention Dr. Bettinger always knew how to keep things interesting and lively in the class whether it be through the trivia style review sessions or giving us extra credit for dressing up on Halloween. And low and behold, we all agreed to dress up as our beloved Dr. Bettinger, which provided him with some very nice entertainment.

2. Silviculture with Doc Daniels

AB1If you know Doc Daniels you’re lucky, if you don’t, you’re missing out. With his countless one-liners and ability to find humor in anything there was never a dull moment in that class. More specifically the labs. If there was a way to get stuck in the mud, it was inevitable that one of the drivers would find it. One of my favorite memories was driving almost two hours to the Chattahoochee-Oconee national forest near Forsyth Georgia to learn about the infamous Sonderegger Pine, which is a hybrid of loblolly and longleaf pine that naturally occurs in that area.

3. Field Camp

Ahhh field camp. One of the most interesting/exhausting/exciting courses here at Warnell. This one month course offers everything from cruising timber from sun up to sun down, driving all over the southeast to different mills and forest operations, and witnesAB3sing the different silviculture practices all over the southeast as well. Along with all of that, I also got to experience the awesome personalities of several different professors for three weeks. I will be forever grateful for that course and don’t think I could forget those memories if I tried.

4. Mensuration with Dr. Bullock

Prior to taking this course, any forestry student will be incredibly intimidated and I was definitely one of those students. Statististics, statistics, and more statistics! What could be more intimidating than that? But never fear, Dr. Bullock is here! With his never ending patience and incredible ability to always describe the topic in a way that makes you understand it, he can help you actually enjoy math. One of the most rewarding experiences in that class was to see how all of the equations and tedious details all came together to give you a pretty neat result.

As I end this blog, there is one final thing that I love the most about Warnell. As an ambassador for this wonderful school, I spend a lot of time meeting and interacting with alumni. What I find most amazing about this is that every individual I have spoken with loves what they do and they always credit it to Warnell. That only reinforces the fact that I am in great hands here and as I enter the real world I have a solid foundation that will take me a long way in life. To my many professors, advisors, mentors, and friends, I leave you with these final words. Thank you. Your love for this school and what you do does not go unnoticed. It inspires me to do the best I can to represent this school no matter where I go.

AB4

Leave a Reply

