Leave a comment

No “Ragrets”- Blake Sherry

This year I am a senior. I plan on graduating in May of 2017 and reaching the end of my undergraduate career. Because of this, I have been reflecting a bit on my past three and a half years at the University of Georgia. I originally came to school doing what my parents wanted me to major in, finance (pronounced fah-nance), instead of what I wanted to do, forestry. I made the switch at the start of my freshman year and have no regrets. And that is what I have been thinking about, how I do not have regrets. I know a lot of people graduate with their undergraduate degree and say the wish they changed something they did so they would not be in the spot where they are now. I am fortunate and lucky to not be in one of those spots, and I think Warnell has helped put me in the place I am in today.

First and foremost, they offered me a degree worth getting. The BSFR in Forestry from Warnell encompasses forestry as whole and allows you to mold it into what you want it to be. With a comprehensive list of required courses, supplemented by a longer list of electives, you can take your degree in the direction you want. The professors that have taught me are some of the best in the world. I have learned everything from microfibril angles in the cell wall of the lumen of a tree to calculating discounted cash flows for timberland investment and how to code in programs like R in order to create growth and yield models. Few other degrees can offer such a breadth of classes.

I made friendships in Warnell that will most likely last a lifetime. Your classmates will be your future business associates, co-workers, possibly bosses. They say Warnell is like a family, and it can be, for better or worse. At the end of the day, I rather take two years of classes with the same group of twenty people than sit in a lecture hall next to a stranger everyday for two years.

Warnell gave me opportunities at school that many other colleges cannot offer. I have done outreach, been a club officer a few times, met with congressmen, gone to six states, and done countless other things because they made the opportunity available and I showed up. All you really have to do is show up in Warnell and you can be almost anything you want. Want to be the SGA Senator? Put your name on the ballot and win uncontested. Want to go to a conference? Split wood for five hours and go for free. The only person limiting you in Warnell is yourself.

And lastly, most importantly, Warnell gave me opportunities after school. I have accepted a position at the company I interned with when I graduate. Without Warnell, I would not have had that chance. So, I do not have any regrets worth considering from my college career. Is Warnell perfect? No, not at all. But I would be hard pressed to find a better place to get a degree.

Leave a Reply

