Leave a comment

A trip Down Under!

By: Lara Meersschaert

Through Warnell, I have had the opportunity to be involved in so many life-changing experiences! One of these experiences was this past winter break, where I was able to spend three weeks in Australia, studying tourism and sustainability, and having more than a little fun when not in class. After a long (15 hour!) flight, we touched down in Brisbane, and our first stop was a wildlife sanctuary, featuring koalas, dingoes, and lizards—often found skittering around your feet, clearly unbothered by human presence. The heat was sweltering, but being in a foreign city felt so new and exciting, it hardly bothered us. The view from our hotel rooms was a sweeping panorama of the city, with blue skies each and every day. Our few days in Brisbane were spent learning about the history of the city, taking early morning walks through the botanical gardens, and eating dinners together in the nearby food hall.  

After Brisbane, we made our way to Noosa, an affluent community off the Sunshine Coast in Queensland. Near the water, we were close to bustling beaches, a busy downtown, and the pool located within the condo community we were staying at. Our week in Noosa was spent surveying residents about their perceptions of tourism, grilling kangaroo burgers (you heard me right!), and spending Christmas day at the beach.  

After Noosa came my favorite (and probably everybody else’s’)—Lady Elliot Island! We flew out of a small airport in a 10-passenger plane that shook and rattled as we ascended over the emerald blue ocean. About an hour into our flight, we came upon Lady Elliott—a gem located in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef. Our few days here were paradise, and I keep them close to my heart. Snorkeling every morning was a must, and empty stomachs were soon satisfied by the extensive buffet that was filled three times a day. The sunshine was constant, and the topics we learned about satisfied my love for ecology and the local flora and fauna. It was nesting season, and thousands of birds took roost on the island, their squawking a constant that was soon tuned out. New Years’ Eve was probably the most fun I’ve ever had, and I won’t go into too much detail about just why. The night ended with sparklers on the beach and a quick dip, returning to my room at around 3:00 am.  

The morning after, we flew out, headed to O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat, located within the heart of Lamington National Park. Our days here were restorative, spent on our porches with a sweeping view of the lush rainforest, with a new hike every day. I loved learning about the local tree species and the variety of animals that existed within this area. The birds here were more than friendly, and would often fly onto your head as you stood in front of the visitor’s center. The rainforest was a welcome break from the bustle of the cities we had visited earlier in our journey. Our time here was focused on studying the interactions present in these complex ecological systems, and I loved getting to learn so hands-on.  

Our last few days were spent in Sydney, which was a blast to explore. As our time came to an end, I found myself so very grateful for the experience I had gotten to share with once-strangers. I had come into the program only knowing one person, and I came out with lifelong friends with whom I had shared a once-in-a-lifetime experience with.  

Leave a comment